Read, explore, create and more!

Our Children's Department provides our youngest patrons a welcoming, safe environment
where they may play games, explore, study, read, be read to and grow. We provide many children's programs for toddlers to tweens
from storytime to book clubs. Age-appropriate materials and technological equipment such as our early literacy stations, iPads, and more are available for use. For assistance, our staff will be more than happy to help!

HKDPL is now on Youtube!

summer reading

Explore our Library‘s YouTube channel for stories, crafts, yoga, and more! HKDPL Youtube.

Online Art Show

online art show

The Haverstraw King's Daughters Public Library is having a "Stuck Inside Art Show!" If you've been creating artwork during your time at home using any medium, and would like us to display your artwork in an online gallery, please email us a photo of your artwork along with your name and age to: HKDPLkidstuff@gmail.com

eSebco Books

esebco

Read over 100+ children and teen eBooks anywhere, any time, and for free!

Get started by going to eSebco Books, then enter the username "haverstraw" and password "public" without the quotes, enter your 14-digit Haverstraw Library card number and finally, enter your name, login and enjoy!

Page Turner Adventures

Download the complete Crafts & Recipes Materials List

WEEK 1 - Monday Show Day: Imagine your FAIRYTALE Story

Once upon a time… It’s our first adventure through the Once Upon a Time Machine as we head into THE MIXED-UP FAIRYTALE Show featuring some of your favorite fairytale characters and a real ten-foot-tall giant!

WEEK 1 - Tuesday: Kids Craft Day

This week we’ll make paper bag gingerbread houses and Little Red Riding Hood’s no-bake cookies.

Tuesday Younger Kids Craft - Fairytale Gingerbread House

Download Fairytale House directions here

Tuesday Older Kids Craft - Little Red Riding Hood’s Cookies

Download Red Riding Hoods Cookies directions here

Week 1 - Wednesday: Author Day

We have two guest authors for our kick-off week, including the man behind MR. LEMONCELLO’S LIBRARY, Chris Grabenstein, AND librarian, storyteller, and PRESIDENT-ELECT OF ALSC, Lucia Gonzalez!

WEEK 1 - Thursday: Tween Craft Day

Our activity & craft for older kids is playing fairytale Madlibs and designing magical “golden” eggs.

Thursday Tween Kids Craft - Fairytale Madlibs

Download Fairytale Madlibs here

Thursday Tween Kids Craft - Pysanky Eggs

Download Fairytale Pysanky Eggs directions here

WEEK 1 - Friday: Guest Performer Day

Librarians will recognize our guest performer, Grammy Winning Family Funk Phenomenon, Secret Agent 23 Skidoo from his many years of producing music for CSLP and being the CSLP Reading Champion.

More info on Secret Agent 23 Skidoo can be found on his website at secretagent23skidoo.com. And, if you want to find out more about VIRTUAL rhyme writing workshops, check out THIS VIDEO and then email sarah@www.dandelionartists.com

Week 2 - Monday Show Day: Imagine Your SPACE Story

BONUS VIDEO - Pie in the Sky Dreams – ORIGINAL Page Turner Adventures Pilot TV show

WEEK 2 - Tuesday: Kids Craft Day

Tuesday Younger Kids Craft - Space Slug Craft

Download Space Slug Craft directions here

Tuesday Older Kids Craft - Alien Frisbee

Download Flying Saucer Frisbee directions here

WEEK 2 - Wednesday: Author Day

Wednesday: Author Day - Lori Haskins Hourin

Wednesday: Author Day - Lori Haskins Hourin - Part 2

Wednesday: Author Day - Priscilla Alpaugh

WEEK 2 - Thursday Tween Craft

Thursday Tween Craft - Fizzball Planet Craft

Download Fizzball Planet Craft directions here

Thursday Tween Craft - Space Case Craft

Download Space Case Craft directions here

Thursday Bonus Video - Emission Impossible

WEEK 2 - Friday: Guest Performer Day

Friday Guest Performer - Janet Ivy from Janet’s Planet

Download this week's craft supply list

Week 3 - Monday Show Day - Steam Lab

WEEK 3 - Tuesday: Kids Craft Day

Tuesday Younger Kids Craft - Thaumatropes

Download Thaumatropes Craft directions here

Tuesday Younger Kids Craft - Balloon Rockets

Download Balloon Rockets Craft directions here

Week 3 - Wednesday: Author Day

Wednesday Author Day - JJ and Chris Grabenstein

Wednesday Author Day - Teresa Robeson

Week 3 - Thursday: Tween Kids Craft

Thursday Tween Kids Craft - Phenakistoscopes

Download Phenakistoscopes directions here

Thursday Tween Kids Craft - Solar Oven S'mores

Download Solar Oven S'mores directions here

WEEK 3 - Friday: Guest Performer Day

Friday Guest Performer - Magician and Rockin’ Eco Hero STEVE TRASH

Download this week's craft supply list

Week 4 - Imagine Your ADVENTURE Story

Monday Show Day - Adventure Story

The Purple Wish Lion “live” show

Monday Bonus - Information Jones

Monday Bonus - Pirate School

WEEK 4 - Tuesday: Kids Craft Day

Tuesday Younger Craft - Lion Head

Download Paper Plate Lion Head Craft directions here

Tuesday Younger Craft - Craft Binoculars

Download Toilet Tube Craft Binoculars directions here

Week 4 - Wednesday: Author Day

Wednesday Author Day - Donna Gephart

Donna Gephart Author Reading

Donna Gephart - Death by Toilet Paper HAMSTER RAP

Wednesday Author Day - Kelly Milner Halls

BONUS! – Illustrator – Esther van den Berg

Week 4 - Thursday: Tween Kids Craft

Thursday Tween Kids Craft - Easter Island Heads

Download Easter Island Heads directions here

Thursday Tween Kids Craft - Tanabata Wishes

Download Tanabata Wishes directions here

BONUS Thursday Miss Understood Pop Up Book

WEEK 4 - Friday: Guest Performer Day

Friday Guest Performer - Sandwich Adventure

Download this week's craft supply list

Week 5 - Imagine Your MUSIC & ART Story

Monday Show Day - Guerilla Art Challenge

Week 5 - Tuesday: Kids Craft Day

Tuesday Younger Craft - Paper Cup Drums

Download Paper Cup Drums directions here

Week 5 - Wednesday: Author Day

This week we are featuring Sherri Winston, author of THE SWEETEST SOUND and JADA SLY, ARTIST & SPY

Week 5 - Thursday: Tween Kids Craft

Thursday Tween Kids Craft - Book Bats

Download Book Bats directions here

Thursday Tween Kids Craft - E-Z Tie-Dye T-Shirt

Download E-Z Tie-Dye T-Shirt directions here

WEEK 5 - Friday: Guest Performer Day

Blues Phenom Miles Hoyt!

Download this week's craft supply list

Week 6 - Imagine Your COOKING Story

Monday Show Day - The Great Pizza Contest

Who makes the best pizza in the town of Mozzarella? Vincent Van Dough or Leonardo Da Munchi? Vincent’s pizza has delicious dough. Leonardo’s pizza has superior sauce. Which one is more important?

BONUS VIDEO from World Read Aloud Day

WEEK 6 - Tuesday: Kids Craft Day

Tuesday Younger Kids’ Recipe- Fruit Pizza

Download Fruit Pizza directions here

Tuesday Younger Kids’ Recipe – Cup Pies

Download Cup Pies directions here

Tuesday Younger Craft – Paper Plate Pizzas

Download Paper Plate Pizzas directions here

WEEK 6 - Wednesday: Author Day

Wednesday: Author Day - Margaret Dilloway

Summer of a Thousand Pies

A heartfelt contemporary middle grade novel about a girl who must try to save her aunt’s failing pie shop, perfect for fans of The Thing About Jellyfish, Fish in a Tree and The Great British Baking Show.

WEEK 6 - Thursday: Tween Craft Day

Thursday Tween Kids Craft - Pencil Mustaches

Download Pencil Mustaches here

Thursday Tween Kids Craft - Granola Pinwheels

Download Granola Pinwheels directions here

WEEK 6 - Friday: Guest Performer Day

FIELD TRIP – The Noodle Station

Today we learn to make ramen noodles at a restaurant!

Download this week's craft supply list

Week 7 - Imagine Your WATER Story

JUMP INTO WATER SAFETY – EMMY award winning!

WEEK 7 - Tuesday: Kids Craft Day

Tuesday Younger Kids’ Craft - Bubble Art

Download Bubble Art directions here

Tuesday Younger Kids’ Craft – Sandpaper Art

Download Sandpaper Art directions here

WEEK 7 - Wednesday: Author Day

Wednesday: Author Day - Shutta Crum

Wednesday: BONUS – How to Choose a Good Book by Shutta Crum

Wednesday: Author Day - Janeen Mason

Wednesday: Author Day - Book Reading by Janeen Mason

WEEK 7 - Thursday: Tween Craft Day

Thursday Tween Kids Craft - Hydro Dipping Art

Download Hydro Dipping directions here

Thursday Tween Kids Craft - Granola Pinwheels

Download Rainstick directions here

WEEK 7 - Friday: Guest Performer Day

Guest Performer – Burl the Bubble Guy

Week 8 - Imagine Your CIRCUS Story

Monday Show - The Magnificent Circus Mystery

Monday Show - Jessica Jane Interview

Monday Show - Kids Club News

WEEK 8 - Tuesday: Kids Craft Day

Tuesday Younger Kids’ Craft - Build a Magic Circus Trunk

Download Circus Trunk directions here

Tuesday Younger Kids’ Craft – Clown Bookmarks

Download Clown Bookmarks directions here

BONUS VIDEO! - Stress Less with Less Stressinator

WEEK 8 - Wednesday: Author Day

Wednesday: Author Day - DON TATE – Strong as Sandow

Wednesday: BONUS VIDEO – Strong as Sandow: How Eugen Sandow Became the Strongest Man on Earth

WEEK 8 - Thursday: Tween Craft Day

Thursday Tween Kids Craft - Juggling Workshop

Thursday Tween Kids Craft - Make Juggling Balls

Download Juggling Balls directions here

WEEK 8 - Friday: Guest Performer Day

Guest Performer – CIRCUS KIRKUS with KIRK MARSH

Be sure to check back daily for more videos!

Reach Out to Us At:

Main Library

  • 10 West Ramapo Road
  • Garnerville, NY 10923
  • Telephone: (845) 786-3800
  • Fax: (845) 786-3791

Village Branch

  • 85 Main Street
  • Haverstraw, NY 10927
  • Telephone: (845) 429-3445
  • Fax: (845) 429-7313